Vincent Van Gogh

Avenue of Poplars

99 X 66 cm

Oil on Canvas

I chose this painting because I admire the colors and subject; I am a big fan of sunsets and the appearance of things like trees in my favorite season, fall.  It also is an exceptionally good example of one point perspective, even though the vanishing point is behind the house.

I plan on including certain elements of this painting into my project.  For instance, I like how there aren’t many visible outlines, especially on things likes leaves, which makes the overall picture look less cartoonish.  Also, I may choose to put my vanishing point behind another object, and this picture would be a good model of that trait.

Vincent Van Gogh is one of the most famous artists of all time.  He was of Dutch descent, and lived from 1853 to 1890.  He is known for his hundreds of paintings, including The Starry Night and Bedroom in Arles, and for cutting off one of his ears because of a lifelong state of depression.

